How To Make A Summer Picnic & DIY Fort!

 

Hey, Guys! So today I have a very special blog post for you! It is the very first DIY on my blog! So what is the reasoning for this DIY? Well… my sister and I decided that we wanted to get outside for a change and have ourselves a picnic. But not just any old ordinary picnic, oh no. We made ourselves a Summer Picnic inside of a fort! So we collected all the colorful sheets we could possibly find, all the dream catchers we owned, a couple of fairy lights and you know of course the kitchen sink. It was a spur of the moment kind of idea which turned out to be one of the most fun DIY’s I have ever made and at the end of the day, we closed up the sheets, popped some popcorn and turned it into a movie night. What could possibly be better than that? This is one of the best ways to spend a day, out in the sun and creating something special for you to enjoy.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

So in order to build this summer picnic fort, you will need a few essentials!

  1. Sheets of any kind (The more colorful the better)
  2. Pegs (To peg together the sheets)
  3. String or rope (To tie the sheets to or around the tree)
  4. A Tree (Or a few within close proximity to each other)

You can customize this DIY to your garden or the location of your choice. I started by tying the rope/string across a few branches to create a resting support for the sheets. I then hung one sheet over the rope, folding about 2cm around the rope, I then used a peg to keep it in place. I did the same with the sheet for the other side of our fort (This ended up resembling the stereotypical tent shape) I used two additional sheets to attach to the bottom of each of the top sheets and pegged them together. You may need to use a few rocks to hold down the part of the sheet that reaches the ground so that it doesn’t blow away!

IMG_2809

So those are just some of the essentials you will need to actually construct the fort. Now onto the most fun bit. Decorating! There really is no set way to do this. My sister and I lay down a large towel and then decided to lay down two pool lounger mattresses as the base of our fort. We then placed a sheet over this to make it resemble a double bed. After this, we placed a blanket over the mattresses, placed a few bright pillows on either side of the fort, added a few more blankets to the mix, hung some fairy lights and some dream catchers.Β We added a speaker as the final touch and played some of our favorite songs.

DSC_0108

Another fun tip for your fort is to create an activity basket. My sister and I took some of our favorite board games, coloring books, reading books etc… and added them to a basket, which we placed just outside our fort. That way we would have lot’s to do. As I mentioned earlier, you can turn the fort into an outdoor movie night as well. Just close the sheets, snuggle up, pop some popcorn, turn on the fairy lights and watch your favorite movies on your laptop!

IMG_2808

So now that you have successfully completed the building and decorating of your fort, it’s time for the picnic! Who doesn’t love a picnic? So this is pretty much self-explanatory. Lay out a blanket, grab a basket and fill it with all your favorite treats and goodies. Finger foods work the best for picnics and are great for sharing with lot’s of people (Which I admit, I don’t do too often)

IMG_2807

A tip for your picnic basket is to use a glass jar for decanting drinks into. It is easy to transport and leaves you with no mess. I made both berry and passion fruit flavored juices and placed it into glass milk style bottles. Plus, it ends up looking pretty aesthetic. Always got to think about the perks for Instagram and of course the blog. “Do it for the blog”

IMG_2806IMG_1210.JPG

I had so much fun building this fort with my sister and even more fun at our summer picnic! I will definitely be doing this again and when I do, I will be sure to share it with all of you guys! I hope this has inspired some of you to go and build a fort of your own! It really is so worthwhile and so much fun! I made a video of our Summer Picnic on my youtube channel so be sure to click on the link below and check it out!

 

Leave a Reply

