My Travel Bucket List!

Hey Everyone! Guess who is back at it again with another blog! Me! As promised, here is another blog post and the good news is that it is one day after the last one and not several months later (oops) So today I thought I would share with you the top 6 travel destinations on my bucket list! Since I am currently still at school, I have not yet been able to fulfill my dream of traveling the world. I have visited places like Dubai, the Maldives, Mauritius and of course some of the local places within South Africa. However, I have not been able to be a proper tourist when I visit such places. I will hopefully one day be given the opportunity to travel to all the continents of the world and stop by in as many countries as I possibly can! But for now, I have compiled a list of the places I most wish to visit!

IMG_2740.PNG

Number one on my travel bucket list is to visit Navagio Beach in Greece. Now I’m sure not many of you know this, but I am actually of Greek descent. My great grandmother was born and raised in Greece. Naturally, it peaks my interest to visit the country from which part of my family originated. One place, in particular, is this beach. Navagio Beach, which is also known as Shipwreck Beach. It is an exposed cove, on the coast of Zakynthos, in the Ionian Islands of Greece. On the 2nd of October 1980, a ship named the MV Panagiotis got caught in a storm on the waters surrounding this beach. The ship was abandoned and still rests buried in the limestone gravel of the beach. The history aside, doesn’t this beach just look absolutely spectacular?

IMG_2749

The second place on my travel bucket list is the Laguna Salada in Spain! This river is actually pink! Yes, you read correctly, the color of the water is indeed pink.The reason for the water’s beautiful blush color is due to a special type of algae that grows in high levels of salt. I have seen countless posts on social media from famous bloggers who have visited the Laguna Salada and it looks absolutely breathtaking. Can you imagine the beautiful sunsets that can be seen from this beach? I mean this is the kind of thing you dream of in your imagination.

IMG_2756

Thirdly, I would love to visit the Cinque Terra in Italy. In English, it can be translated to “The Five Lands”. Cinque Terre is a large group of old seaside villages on the Italian Riviera coastline. In each of the 5 towns, there are colorful houses and vineyards. The most picture perfect village I have ever seen. Another fun fact about me is that I am also Italian. My grandfather was born and raised until he was about ten years of age, in Italy. I have seen pictures of the Cinque Terra all over platforms such as Pinterest and Tumblr and it has always been a dream of mine to visit Italy, yet another country pertaining to my history and origin. I hope to one day capture a picture of this beautiful village myself.

IMG_2747

The next place to visit on my bucket list is the Rainbow Mountains of Peru, also known as the Ausangate Mountain.  The mountain is considered to be a holy place. It is a place of daily worship by the local citizens of Peru. The mountain is striped with hues and colors of blue, red and gold. According to many sources, it is apparently both difficult to find and get to. It is said to require a hike of several days. For a sight as spectacular as that, I wouldn’t mind terribly to hike for several days. I thought about adding climbing Macchu Picchu to my travel bucket list, but when I came across this, it was an obvious choice.

IMG_2744

The fifth place on my travel bucket list is the Blue Lagoon in Iceland. The Blue Lagoon is located in a lava field in Grindavik Iceland. The waters of the Blue Lagoon are rich in minerals and the temperature in the lagoon is said to average 37–75 °C. The lagoon is a man-made lagoon which is fed by the water output of the nearby geothermal power plant. Can you imagine being surrounded by ice and snow, but being completely warmed by the water inside the lagoon? Not only does the temperatures amaze me, but the beautiful ice blue color of the water amazes me too!

IMG_2751

Last but most certainly not least, This incredible sight is what is known as The Umbrella Sky Project. This project was started in 2011 as part of the city of annual Ágitagueda Art Festival in Portugal. The months of July, August, and September, are incredibly hot in Agueda and so the city’s streets are covered in colorful umbrella’s. This helps to provide shade for the people passing through and there are also rooftop cables that are strung to help cool the roads in a vibrant and cost-effective way.

All six of these bright and vibrant places have something very special. Each destination has a beautiful story behind it and lets’s not forget that each of these places is mind-blowingly beautiful. I am so happy that I am able to share with you some of the places I hope to one day visit! What is your number one dream travel destination? Do you have a travel bucket list? Let me know!

Enjoy the rest of your week everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

